Review: All of Us Strangers (2023)

Paul Mescal…please, give me a chance.

I knew nothing about All of Us Strangers (2023) before going into it. I didn’t watch the trailer, didn’t ask any of my friends if they had seen it, and barely even knew who was in it or what it was about. What I have been FULLY aware of however is how to promote the movie stars Andrew Scott and Paul Mescal have been on perhaps the greatest press tour of all time. Every interview I’ve seen of the two (and believe me, I’ve seen them all) they prove themselves to be the perfect co-stars. In every interview they are unbelievably charming and adorable as they fawn all over each other and their effortless chemistry as friends convinced me that I absolutely had to see a movie where they played love interests. The chemistry is reason enough to see All of Us Strangers and as it turns out, the fantastic writing and moving performances are added bonuses. 

Credit: imdb.com / Searchlight Pictures

Based on the novel “Strangers” by Taichi Yamada and written and directed by Andrew Haigh, All of Us Strangers tells the story of Adam, a lonely screenwriter who begins a relationship with Harry, his mysterious neighbour. At the same time, Adam discovers that he’s able to communicate with the parents he lost 30 years prior in a fatal car accident.

I just have to start this review by saying that I went to the 1:15 p.m. showing of this movie on a Tuesday fully expecting to be the only one there and I was SHOCKED that I struggled to find a seat! It was packed! Which honestly made me so happy because I fully believed that this gay drama wouldn’t be on many people’s radar. Trust me when I say that it absolutely should be on everybody’s radar though. Besides the obvious great writing and performances (which we’ll get into), what I really admired about All of Us Strangers is that it’s a powerful, visceral movie that doesn’t fall into the usual trappings that a lot of queer dramas do. Oh, you can bet your bottom dollar that there are heavy moments that will move you to tears, but rest assured that this movie doesn’t utilize tragedy for the sake of story. There are sad moments for sure but having those moments only help highlight all of the wonderful, heartwarming parts of the movie that make All of Us Strangers a well-rounded story. At times the movie becomes a little confusing when it forces you to question what’s real and what isn’t and thus you may find your attention wavering, but believe me when I say that every minute of this beautifully-made movie is well worth all of your attention.

Admittedly, there were many times when I asked myself, “now what the what is going on right now?” I had so many questions like, “how can Adam see his dead parents?” and, “is he breaking into his old house and hallucinating?” and, “does Harry ACTUALLY live in the building or is he just squatting?” As it turns out not only do these plot points and more thankfully have rewarding payoffs, but even the questions you have that don’t get answered don’t hinder your enjoyment of the movie as a whole in any way. The storytelling and character development is handled so wonderfully in All of Us Strangers that it transcends into one of those movies that is so excellent from start to finish you don’t need all the answers. You’re more than content to just be taken on this emotional ride that will move you to tears of sadness AND joy. I think the best way to describe the tone of All of Us Strangers is that it’s melancholy but cathartic. It captures a lot of truths about the different stages of the gay experience and oh boy is it super relatable. The movie is tender and intimate, the kind of movie you would watch by candlelight and on your own to ensure no one distracts you from the loving story and emotional mountains it climbs. 

Even before the movie started I had the very strong premonition that I was going to be pissed that All of Us Strangers did not receive any Oscar nominations. After watching the incredible performances by the small but mighty cast of four, I am mad as Hell not a single one of these phenomenal actors got any recognition for their work. Claire Foy is as miraculous as always, and she and Jamie Bell (whom I ADORE and is the quintessential supporting actor) have such a knack for finding magic in the movie’s more quiet moments. As Adam’s parents, these two will fill your heart until it’s brimming with love and then rip it out of your chest. Wow, they’re amazing. By the way, when will Bell and Tom Holland play relatives? They look so alike! As well, when will Foy and Helena Bonham Carter do the same?

Of course, it’s Andrew Scott, Paul Mescal and their otherworldly chemistry who are the emotional heartbeat of All of Us Strangers. Prior to this movie I had never seen either of them in anything and now I am a hardcore fan of both of these sensational men. Their sensual intimacy alone supercharges this movie with enough charisma to power a dozen romantic dramas. The simple initial caress of each other’s hands provides a spark of romantic energy that is off the charts. From then on every time they touch is electric. So much about their relationship is conveyed in the way they handle each other physically. The chemistry is oozing out of everywhere! IT’S MAGIC. Both Scott and Mescal should have easily picked up nominations for their performances. At the very least I better see these two in every kind of role moving forward but especially rom-coms because my God, how could you not fall in love with either one of them?

All of Us Strangers is a triumphant movie that is more than worthy of all the praise and critical acclaim. If you can, definitely check it out and I promise you won’t regret it. Look, even if you end up not liking the movie, you still get to stare at Paul Mescal’s beautiful face for two hours and hear him say incredibly romantic things which is always a win in my book. Can you tell I have just the teensiest of crushes on Mescal?

Have you seen All of Us Strangers?

Let me know in the comments or on social media!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close