Wayback Wednesday: Chicago (2002)

If going to jail means being a part of a musical number this iconically fabulous then show me to my cell.

Having recently seen The Color Purple (2023) – congratulations to Danielle Brooks on her well-deserved Oscar nomination! – and Mean Girls (2024) – check out my review, here – I have really been in a musical mood lately! From Hairspray (2007) to Mamma Mia! (2008), my own personal list of favourite movies supplies no shortage of wonderful movie musicals I could have chosen from. I’ll eventually get around to reviewing those brilliant movies but for this week’s Wayback I wanted to watch a movie I knew practically nothing about. Which is how I decided to watch Chicago (2002), a movie musical that is credited with reigniting an interest in the genre and boy oh boy is it clear to see why. It was one of the first big, successful movie musicals of the 21st century and I can easily see how it would spark something in future theatre kids and young gays. Let’s just say that if I had seen this movie when it first came out, I would have been OBSESSED. 

Credit: imdb.com / Miramax Films

Based on the stage musical of the same name, Chicago tells the story of Roxie Hart and Velma Kelly, two death-row murderesses in 1920s Chicago. Locked away in jail awaiting trial, the two begin a fierce rivalry where they compete for everything from the attention of a sleazy lawyer to publicity.

This is Rob Marshall’s directorial debut. He’s made a name for himself directing movie musicals and the widespread acclaim of Chicago is what set him up to do so. From what I’ve heard this is Marshall’s most impressive and beloved work with many people commenting that he’s at his best when working on projects with slightly grittier material. Y’know rather than Mary Poppins Returns (2018) and The Little Mermaid (2023). By the way, check out my reviews for those movies, here and here. Prior to watching Chicago I had seen most of Marshall’s movie musicals and while they’re all competently made, they’re all a bit safe. Lovely, palatable, but lacking any real bite or edge. I’m relieved to say that this stunning movie is far and away the crown jewel in Marshall’s filmography of movie musicals. 

Chicago is a musical theatre sensation in every sense of the word. It’s show-stopping and electric. In everything from the choreography to the costuming it possesses the razzle-dazzle that every musical should inherently have. The razzle-dazzle that something like Mean Girls is missing. I’m fully aware they’re two very different stories in tone but even the most basic of musicals needs some theatricality and showmanship which thankfully Chicago has gallons to spare. The brilliant staging, the glamorous styling that instantly transports you into the 1920s, and the ASTOUNDING dancers are just a few elements that make this movie feel as though it’s simply a filmed version of a Broadway show. These are basics but when under the direction of a leader who so thoroughly understands theatre, it pays off. The choreography, the lighting, the production design…it’s all so fabulously Broadway! The direction is jaw-dropping. I need Marshall to cut ties with Disney before he inevitably ends up directing the live-action adaptation of Home on the Range (2004) or yet another Spider-Man reboot. Chicago is such a reminder of those big studio musicals of the Golden Age of Hollywood that really separated triple threat stars from your everyday actor.

Speaking of, everybody in this cast is utterly AMAZING. Both in this movie and just in general. Renée Zellweger, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Queen Latifah, Christine Baranski, LUCY FUCKING LIU…the amount of MOTHERING in this movie is off the charts. All of these fantastic women (and of course co-star Richard Gere) deliver performances both big and small that are just as fabulous as they are. Let me just say, this is probably the first time I’ve genuinely liked Zellweger in a movie. Zellweger is remarkable and the Oscar nomination she received for Best Actress is understandable but I couldn’t help but think about how much I would have rather seen someone like Michelle Williams in this role. Who is absolutely irreplaceable though is Zeta-Jones. I had no idea she could sing! Her introduction during “All That Jazz” is as mesmerizing as it is dynamic. It’s impossible to take your eyes off her. It takes a STAR to pull off the performance required of this character and Zeta-Jones more than delivers. Dear God you can tell she worked and danced her ass for that Oscar and it is more than well-deserved. It’s a fiery powerhouse performance that you’re bound to demand more of. 

Speaking of wanting more, Latifah can do ANYTHING because she is a DAMN STAR and an undeniable multi-hyphenate talent. The minute she appeared on screen I just got the biggest smile on my face and fell in love with her. Duh, because I’m a person with good taste. She is yet another member of the cast who received an Oscar nomination for her performance (as did John C. Reilly) and it’s clear to see why. Latifah, Zellweger, Zeta-Jones, Gere, Baranski…this is what I’ve been missing from (not just musical) movies lately: TRUE MOVIE STARS. Great versatile actors who you just can’t help but be drawn to and can effortlessly hold your attention. I mean, fantastic source material helps as well, as does a director who so clearly knows what he’s doing. As evidenced by Marshall’s Oscar nomination for Best Director and win for Best Picture. I need Latifah, Gere and Zeta-Jones in good interesting movies like ASAP. At least the latter is on Wednesday (2022 – present) but I need to see them all in mainstream projects!

Chicago is entertaining as all get out. The original musical is written by Bob Fosse and prior to seeing this movie, the only Fosse content I had consumed was Cabaret (1972). I enjoyed Cabaret but didn’t love it so I was admittedly worried about how much I would like this movie. But I loved Chicago! I thought I wouldn’t be into a musical that wasn’t as fantastical as say, “Wicked,” or as blatantly funny as “Hairspray,” but I was super into this movie! I mean, how could I not be? The whole thing is just incredibly fabulous. By the end I even went ahead and added a handful of songs to the Spotify playlist I have dedicated to show tunes. Another aspect of this movie I was pleasantly surprised with was how excellent the pacing was. Chicago is a movie that doesn’t wear out its welcome. It’s an almost two hour movie but wow, it chugs along at a fabulous pace. I wouldn’t even have been mad at a few more musical numbers. That’s how breathtaking they were to watch!

Chicago is just as extraordinary as I had heard it was. A thrilling and wildly astonishing feat of musical moviemaking, you can’t call yourself a fan of musical theatre without seeing this movie. Anyone who doesn’t deserves jail. Hey, they had it coming.

Are you a fan of Chicago?

Let me know in the comments or on social media!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close