Wayback Wednesday: A Knight’s Tale (2001)

It’s decided: I’m going to Medieval Times for my birthday.

Every once in a while I’ll look at the last handful of movies that I’ve chosen for Wayback reviews and realize that I’ve been unfairly favouring several genres over others. What can I say? I just love watching a plethora of comedies and horror movies rather than historical dramas and action movies. I also love the occasional story set in medieval times which is how I chose to switch things up with this week’s Wayback, A Knight’s Tale (2001). Now, I prefer my stories set in the medieval times to feature some elements of fantasy so I won’t lie to you guys: I did not love this movie. The performances are earnest and as a whole it’s well-made, but for me it just barely passes the criteria for entertaining. In all honesty, A Knight’s Tale is the kind of movie your eighth grade teacher would let you watch in class after you finish a unit on medieval times. It’s not too glitzy, it’s not too educational and most importantly, it’s nice and long which guarantees a good chunk of class time devoted to movie-watching. 

Credit: imdb.com / Sony Pictures Releasing

Inspired by the works of Geoffrey Chaucer, A Knight’s Tale tells the story of William Thatcher, a peasant squire who poses as a knight to compete in tournaments and win glory and riches. Along the way he makes new friends and finds true love.

Doesn’t it feel like the early 2000s had such a love for making action movies set centuries in the past? Think about it: Gladiator (2000), Troy (2004), King Arthur (2004)…they all had decent budgets, great casts and really cool practical effects and sets! Then we entered the 2010s and got movies that while similar, were super forgetful and filled with atrocious CGI. Movies like, The Legend of Hercules (2014), The Great Wall (2016) and Gods of Egypt (2016). Quality sword and shield movies need to make a comeback! Although, I could do without them featuring music from the 1970s. That’s an odd choice A Knight’s Tale makes that at first isn’t unwelcome but slowly becomes more and more out of place. Opening with an awesome song like “We Will Rock You” is rad as Hell and sets up the adventure we’re about to go on. Continuing with something like “Low Rider” is just goofy and out of place. 

I have to say, I was pretty surprised that a movie that’s so long (over two hours) wastes no time getting started and IMMEDIATELY sets the plot in motion. Sadly, from there the rest of the movie is extremely light on actual plot. The majority of A Knight’s Tale is literally just jousting. I can’t exactly be mad at that because I knew that was the main element of the movie going in, but dang. I was 50 minutes in and all that had really happened besides jousting was an unearned, largely one-sided romance. I could not believe that there was still OVER AN HOUR to go! Thankfully A Knight’s Tale isn’t particularly bad or a chore to sit through. I just could not imagine what else the movie could possibly include to earn such a long runtime. Really, at that point there should have been a maximum of 35 minutes left. 

The light plot shouldn’t really be that surprising though. Most sports-themed movies don’t have that strong of a plot and make no mistake: A Knight’s Tale is just your average sports movie about a team of underdogs, just set in the medieval times. Honestly, if I were going to recommend this movie to someone, I’d recommend it to a fan of sports movies rather than someone who was a fan of “medieval action comedies” as this movie bills itself to be. A Knight’s Tale is obviously not trying to be a drama nor is it a straightforward romantic-comedy, but I could have used a bit more of all those elements implemented into the story. There’s a really sweet scene between William and his father that is emotional and beautiful to watch that’s a good showcase of star Heath Ledger’s acting, so that’s something. But yes please to more romance (meaning more than William’s immediate head over heels infatuation with the thinly-written Jocelyn) and some bigger laughs. Not that I want this to be a flat-out comedy. Ugh, than you get a movie like Your Highness (2011). 

The tone is obviously much more serious and it’s nowhere near as colourful, but the movie A Knight’s Tale most reminds me of is Ella Enchanted (2004). That movie is much more tongue in cheek and less serious but that’s the closest movie I could relate this to. Well, that and Shrek (2001). Of course, Shrek is a much better movie than this but there’s something about the medieval fun and slight satire (that Shrek is much more overt with, mind you) that reminds me of everyone’s favourite ogre. Wait, would that be an awesome double feature? 

When A Knight’s Tale first started and Ledger appeared in a tangled wig and scraggly fake beard that were obviously put on to demonstrate that his character was going to become hotter, my first thought was, “yay, Heath Ledger’s gonna get a makeover!” I LOVE a good makeover scene and this movie completely skips over it! Yes, we eventually get to see Ledger’s handsome face but at what cost? Obviously Ledger goes through much more of a physical transformation thanks to make-up in movies like The Brothers Grimm (2005) and The Dark Knight (2008) – check out my review, here – but for me he truly disappears into those roles. So much so to the point where I don’t recognize him. He delivers a fine performance in A Knight’s Tale but truly all I can see and hear is Patrick Verona from 10 Things I Hate About You (1999). Seeing his charm and talent only saddens me as I can’t help but think for the millionth time how many amazing roles he could have played had he not died so young. 

Playing William’s companions are Paul Bettany, Alan Tudyk (a rare live-action role for the voice-acting chameleon) and Mark Addy. Together they make such a fun little group, an endearing motley crew that adds much needed charisma to a movie that often feels like its spinning its wheels. Oh, and of course no old-timey movie would be complete without Rufus Sewell who in a SHOCKING turn of events plays a massive dick. No seriously, it happens ALL the time. The Illusionist (2006), The Legend of Zorro (2005), Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter (2012), The Holiday (2006)…Ahh, no one plays a slightly threatening protagonist who is out to steal the main character’s love interest quite like Sewell does.

I definitely can appreciate A Knight’s Tale for what it is but I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t disappointed that I didn’t enjoy it more than I had hoped I would. Far from terrible but probably just as far from great, I have to admit that I struggle to earnestly recommend this to anyone. I just don’t know quite who this movie is for! Jousting enthusiasts? Fans of tournament protocol? People who wanted to see multiple shots of Bettany’s butt crack? If any of that speaks to your soul, than this is the movie for you!

Have you seen A Knight’s Tale?

Let me know in the comments or on social media!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close